FACULTY COUNCIL MINUTES May 6, 2015

Representatives in Attendance: Drs. Aloysi, Baron, Butts, Choudhri, Evans, Gillespie, Godbold, Haroutunian, Hausman, Howell, Kim-Schluger, Krauss, Leibowitz, Manfredi, Teitelbaum, Ubarretxena, Wang

Also Attending: Ms. Schneier

I. Approval of March 6, 2015 Minutes

Upon motion duly made and seconded, the minutes of the January 7, 2015 Faculty Council meeting were unanimously approved.

II. Faculty Council Awards

Dr. Leibowitz reported that 12 excellent candidates were nominated, and the selection committee will make its decision soon. Among the awards currently given is a Lifetime Achievement Award, and the Executive Committee agreed that consideration should be given to conferring more than just one in light of the expanding size of our faculty.

The awards will be presented at the next Faculty Council meeting, which will be structured to begin with regular Council business, followed by a second half devoted to the awards.

III. Welcome New Member

Dr. Choudhri welcomed Dr. Iban Ubarretxena, our new representative from Structural and Chemical Biology, who replaces Marta Filizola...

IV. Committee Updates

- Resources/Benefits Committee Dr. Haroutunian reported that the 2016 benefits plan team under Ms. Maksoud will notify him once they have a proposed plan.
- Professionalism Committee Dr. Hausman reported that there have been no new cases
- Disciplinary Tribunal Dr. Ragnarsson reported that there have been no new cases.

Dr. Choudhri reported that as Faculty Council President he attends monthly meetings of the Board of Trustees. At the recent Executive Committee meeting, activities across campus were reviewed, including capital planning for a new Mount Sinai Beth Israel. Dr. Choudhri recommended that the Council invite the member hospital presidents to meet with the Council.

V. Faculty Council Governance

Dr. Choudhri noted that three areas require attention:

- <u>Ad hoc Governance Committee</u> -- volunteers needed to address issues such as term lengths and committee structure. Drs. Leibowitz and Ragnarsson will chair this committee.
- <u>Vice Chairs for Existing Committees</u> The Council has previously expressed support for creating Vice Chair positions to expand the leadership structure.
- <u>President-Elect</u> There is a need to identify the individual who will succeed Dr. Choudhri as Council President.

Drs. Ambrose, Stone and Kalir have expressed interest in taking on Vice Chair roles or serving on the governance committee. Dr. Teitelbaum volunteered to be Vice Chair of the Information Technology group.

VI. Diversity Initiatives

Dr. Butts described:

- <u>Office for Diversity and Inclusion</u> Every member hospital has a site-based diversity council and an employee resource group to engage staff
- <u>School Diversity Council</u> -- Reporting to Dean Charney, this group focuses on faculty diversity, considering such pipeline, promotion and other issues. Each academic department has a representative on the Diversity Council, and Dr. Butts emphasizes the importance for each in doing their departmental diversity analysis.